Digital literacy

Programmes under new TTAF target areas announced

Programmes under new TTAF target areas announced

Last updated 26 January 2021
Last updated 26 January 2021

Following the announcement of new target areas under the Targeted Training and Apprenticeships Fund (TTAF) in December, the Tertiary Education Commission (TEC) today released the list of additional programmes that will be covered under the Government’s free trades training programme.

The expanded TTAF target areas now include conservation and information technology. The scope of the community support target area was also widened.

Examples of programmes that are now covered by TTAF are:

  • New Zealand Diploma in Web Development and Design (Level 5)
  • New Zealand Diploma in Cybersecurity (Level 6)
  • New Zealand Certificate in Conservation (Operations) (Level 4)
  • New Zealand Diploma in Enrolled Nursing (Level 5)
  • New Zealand Certificate in Education Support and Care (Level 3)

See the full list of programmes included in the new target areas, at TTAF list of qualifications and programmes page.

“The expansion of the TTAF target areas and inclusion of more programmes provide greater opportunities for students and trainees in crucial areas and sectors,” says TEC Deputy Chief Executive Gillian Dudgeon.

Tertiary Education Organisations (TEOs) that have other programmes such as micro-credentials and training schemes that meet the eligibility criteria, can submit these to TEC for assessment. TEOs should follow the application process outlined under the FAQs for TEOs section of our website.

For more information, visit the TTAF page.