News item PBRF

Appointment of Members of PBRF Sector Reference Group for the Quality Evaluation 2025

Appointment of Members of PBRF Sector Reference Group for the Quality Evaluation 2025

Last updated 15 September 2021
Last updated 15 September 2021

In preparation for the Performance-Based Research Fund (PBRF) Quality Evaluation in 2025, the Tertiary Education Commission (TEC) is pleased to announce the membership of the PBRF Sector Reference Group (SRG).

Under the leadership of Co-chairs Professor William Doherty (Tūhoe, Ngāti Awa) and Professor Wendy Larner, the SRG will provide advice and recommendations on operational changes to the design of the 2025 Quality Evaluation. The SRG’s recommendations will be developed as part of a public consultation process.

Members were appointed following an open call for nominations. The response to the call was excellent, with 59 nominations from a range of TEOs.
“In selecting the fifteen members we sought to ensure the group has the necessary expertise and knowledge to advise on Cabinet’s directions on changes to the Quality Evaluation,” the Co-chairs said. “We have also sought to convene a group which represents the diversity of participating TEOs, academic disciplines, career stages, and the population of Aotearoa New Zealand.”

“I am delighted that so many colleagues from across the sector have put themselves forward for this important mahi,” says Tim Fowler, Chief Executive of the TEC. “The members collectively bring enormous academic and professional experience and knowledge. I’m particularly pleased that the group has expertise in kaupapa and Mātauranga Māori, and Pacific research, as well as representing important groups such as new and emerging researchers.”

The first meeting of the SRG will take place later this month, and the group will meet regularly until June 2023 when the PBRF Quality Evaluation Guidelines will be published. Timeframes for this process, and the consultation papers, will be published on the TEC website.

The SRG membership is:

Dr Clive Aspin (Ngāti Maru, Ngāti Whanaunga, Ngāti Tamaterā), Associate Dean Māori, Senior Lecturer in Health, Te Herenga Waka Victoria University of Wellington

Dr Maria Baker, Pouwhakahaere Matua CEO, Te Rau Ora

Associate Professor Vaughan Bidois, Executive Director Academic, Te Whare Wānanga o Awanuiārangi

Professor Craig Bunt (Te Ātiawa), Professor of Agricultural Innovation, University of Otago

Dr Christine Cheyne, Faculty Research Co-ordinator, Toi Ohomai Institute of Technology (Te Pūkenga)

Dr Donna Hendry, PBRF and Publications Manager, University of Otago

Professor Robert Jahnke (Ngāi Taharora, Te Whānau a Iritekura, Te Whānau a Rakairoa o Ngāti Porou), Professor of Māori Visual Arts, Toioho ki Āpiti, Massey University

Professor Bryony James, Deputy Vice-Chancellor Research, Te Whare Wānanga o Waikato University of Waikato

Professor Jenny Lee-Morgan (Waikato – Ngāti Mahuta, Te Ahiwaru), Professor of Māori Research, Director Ngā Wai ā Te Tūī Māori and Indigenous Research Centre, Unitec (Te Pūkenga)

Professor Kathryn McPherson, Deputy Vice-Chancellor Research, Auckland University of Technology

Dr Sereana Naepi, Lecturer, School of Social Sciences, University of Auckland and Co-chair Royal Society Te Apārangi Early Career Researchers Forum

Professor Steven Ratuva, Director Macmillan Brown Centre for Pacific Studies, University of Canterbury

Professor Karen Scott, Faculty of Law, University of Canterbury

Associate Professor Yvonne Te Ruki Rangi o Tangaroa Underhill-Sem, Pacific Studies, Te Wānanga o Waipapa, Faculty of Arts, University of Auckland

Associate Professor Melinda Webber (Ngāti Whakaue, Ngāpuhi, Ngati Kahu), Te Tumu, Faculty of Education and Social Work, University of Auckland

Information on the 2025 Quality Evaluation and the SRG is available on the TEC website.