Web banner bw

There’s still time to kōrero mai - have your say

There’s still time to kōrero mai - have your say

Last updated 22 January 2021
Last updated 22 January 2021

Consultation on the foundation documents that will formally establish Workforce Development Councils (WDCs) as legal entities is closing on Friday 5 February 2021.

The consultation is part of the Reform of Vocational Education (RoVE), the biggest change and transformation of our vocational education system in 35 years. As part of the changes, we are establishing a stronger industry voice in vocational education and to do that six new industry organisations called Workforce Development Councils (WDCs) are being formed.

The Tertiary Education Commission is asking for feedback on the six legislative instrument proposals known as Orders in Council that will formally establish each WDC. We want to know what you think of each WDC’s name, the industries they cover, and their governance arrangements.

To see the proposals, find out more, and to have your say go to WDCconsultation.tec.govt.nz

Feedback will inform the final Orders in Council that will establish each WDC.

WDCs will play a vital role in helping industry set a vision for the skills and training needed for Aotearoa’s workforce, and influence the vocational education and training system.

Once established, the WDCs will have a forward, strategic view of the future skills needs of industries; set standards, develop qualifications and help shape the curriculum of vocational education; and moderate assessments against industry standards.

They will also provide advice to the TEC on investment in vocational education, and determine the appropriate mix of skills and training for the industries each WDC covers. The role of WDCs is also integral in supporting learners and the success of Māori learners.

Consultation is closing on Friday 5 February 2021. For more detail and to provide feedback, go to the WDC Consultation website. (This has now closed)

If this link doesn’t work please try using Chrome or Firefox browsers.