How WDCs were established

How WDCs were established

Last updated 19 July 2021
Last updated 19 July 2021

WDC interim Establishment Boards (iEBs)

Six WDC interim Establishment Boards (iEBs), made up of industry representatives, were responsible for setting up the six WDCs.  The iEBs oversaw the Orders in Council (OiC) process, which established WDCs as legal entities. In the lead up to OiCs being passed, iEBs consulted with their industries on proposed governance arrangements and other core aspects of their WDC, including name, functions and industry coverage.

iEB members were appointed by TEC in June 2020 following an Expression of Interest process.

This document lists the board members across the six iEBs.

iEB All Board Composition 

Te Kāhui Ahumahi

Māori members from across the iEBs came together to form te Kāhui Ahumahi, an expert advisory group that provided guidance on te ao Māori and honouring te Tiriti o Waitangi throughout the WDC establishment phase.

WDC Orders in Council (OiC)

All six iEBs were responsible for developing an OiC that outlines the name of the respective WDC, states the industries it covers, sets out the governance arrangements and details any additional functions to be performed by the WDC.

Each IEB engaged with industry to help develop the core content of their OiC and more than 200 people and organisations provided feedback on the draft Orders. This engagement helped ensure WDCs were established in ways that will best meet industry needs.

Once approved by the Minister, OiCs were sent to the Governor-General for signature. On Monday 10 May 2021 Her Excellency the Governor-General, Patsy Reddy, gave Royal Assent, passing in to law, Orders in Council (OiC) establishing the six Workforce Development Councils. The legislation came into effect on 11 June 2021. Read Hon. Chris Hipkins, Minister of Education’s press release here. 

The WDC Orders in Council can be viewed here:

Note, not all WDCs had selected a Māori name by the time their OiC was submitted.

WDC Council appointments process

In early March 2021 Expressions of Interest were sought from industry leaders who wanted to play a critical role in recommending and appointing governance Council members into the six new Workforce Development Councils.

The following Nomination and Appointment Committees* oversaw appointments to the governing Councils of WDCs.

  • Waihanga Ara Rau Construction and Infrastructure WDC - Gillian Blythe, Shelley Katae, Sara Paris, Jeremy Sole and Paul Watson.
  • Toitū te Waiora Community, Health, Education and Social Services WDC - Hamish Crooks, Josephine Gagan, Fale Andrew Lesa, Te Ropu Poa and Linda Thompson.
  • Hanga-Aro-Rau Manufacturing, Engineering and Logistics WDC - Penny Stonyer, Andrew Clearwater, Carla Seymour Mansell, Darren O'Riley, Robert Reid and Christine Spring.
  • Muka Tangata - People, Food and Fibre WDC - Jeremy Baker, Sam Huggard, Neville King, Rukumoana Schaafhausen and Vanessa Winning.
  • Toi Mai WDC - Glenn Barclay, Nicole Hoey, Candace Kinser, Raewyn Lovett and Trina Tamati.
  • Services WDC - Paul Goulter, Raewyn Mahara and Bruce Robertson.

*The Services Workforce Development Council was established via a hybrid model, where some Council members were appointed by the Minister of Education following nominations from TEC. Those members then made remaining appointments. A Services WDC Shortlisting Panel supported this process.