Last updated 1 December 2017
Last updated 1 December 2017

This is the Trades Academies funding eligibility information.

Organisational eligibility

A Trades Academy can be led by a school or by a tertiary education organisation (TEO).

To be a Trades Academy, a lead provider (such as a school, TEO or industry training organisation (ITO)) must be recognised by the Minister of Education. This recognition is given via a notice in the New Zealand Gazette. The lead provider or provider group is then required to have its programme establishment plan approved by the Secretary for Education.

Programme eligibility

The programme must be full time and agreed to by the Secretary for Education. It must also include the following:

A secondary component that:

  • is normally provided by a school (but may also be provided by a tertiary education provider), and
  • enables a student to complete the requirements for National Certificate of Educational Achievement (NCEA) level 2.

A tertiary component that:

  • is provided either by a secondary school, a special school, a composite school, a private school, or a tertiary education provider, and
  • enables credits achieved to be counted towards National Certificate of Educational Achievement (NCEA) level 2.

The programme must also include appropriate work experience where this forms part of the tertiary or secondary component of the programme.

Learner eligibility

Students in years 11-13 at a secondary school who are interested in a career in trades or technology – or who are at risk of disengaging from education – may be considered for a Trades Academy programme.

To be eligible for a Trades Academy-funded place, the student must be enrolled at school and have a right to enrol as a domestic student in school settings.

See the Trades Academy Programme Operational Policy and Guidelines