SAC level 3 and above

SAC level 3 and above

Last updated 21 June 2017
Last updated 06/21/2017

The Student Achievement Component (SAC) is the Government’s contribution towards the cost of teaching and learning services for students enrolled at a tertiary education organisation (TEO). Students must be studying towards a qualification listed on the New Zealand Qualifications Framework (NZQF). 

The SAC comprises two funds; the SAC – Provision at Level 3 and above on the NZQF Fund (SAC level 3 and above), and the SAC – Qualifications at Levels 1 and 2 on the NZQF Fund.

Information on these pages relates to SAC level 3 and above funding.

Information about SAC level 1 and 2 funding is available on the SAC levels 1 and 2 competitive and SAC levels 1 and 2 non-competitive webpages.  

In addition see:

  • SAC levels 3 and 4 (competitive) funding for information about this competitively allocated funding
  • Equity funding for information about the Government’s contribution to improve access to SAC-funded tertiary education for, and the achievement of, Māori students, Pasifika students, and students with disabilities
  • Māori and Pasifika Trades Training (MPTT) funding for information about the Government’s provision for fees-free SAC-funded tertiary education places for Māori and Pasifika students (to acquire the skills needed to enter into a New Zealand Apprenticeship or equivalent), and
  • Performance linked funding for information about linking a portion of SAC funding to TEO performance.


Other resources include: